"The Very Best of British, Tranquil, Perfect Location for Wells, Cheddar, Glastonbury and more"
Click here for more reviews

BED & BREAKFAST - UPPER COXLEY, Nr WELLS

Tel: 01749 675527 Email: info@coxleyhouse.co.uk

Reviews

Reviews are constantly updated on tripadvisor

Absolutely Fabulous!!

There aren't words enough to describe the 5* welcome and hospitality of our hosts. We had a wonderful time. The house, its furnishings and location are stunning. We were met with generous quantities of tea and home made cake and nothing was too much trouble - even our very early Sunday morning breakfast. Breakfasts were fantastic - local Old Spot bacon, sausages and marmalade, delicious smoked salmon and scrambled eggs. Julia insisted on driving us to our venue twice. I then left something behind and it was posted back straightaway. Definitely one to return to. Book it now! I guarantee you won't be disappointed.

Pat W
Deal, Kent
Reviewed 5 July 2013


"Back again ...."

We said we would go back as we had such a lovely time last year, so we did. Delighted to say all is still excellent. We still feel it would be difficult to find a better B&B; rooms and house, location, hosts, all continue to be superb. We're already trying to work out when we can go again.

Helen W
Llangeitho, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 June 2013


"Beautiful home in the country"

Coxley House is a beautiful, secluded home a few minutes from the town of Wells. Best to ask for driving instructions, because it is well hidden from the road. The hostess is gracious, friendly and provides a great breakfast. I appreciated the quiet, well-decorated room and strolling in the walled garden. The fields beyond the gate have views of Wells Cathedral and Glastonbury Tor. If you're a walker, local footpaths connect Coxley with the town and beyond.

Marian D
Silver Spring, Maryland
Reviewed 11 June 2013


"Exceeded expectations"

Beautiful room and attention to detail and so well looked after. I will be going back to have those wonderful breakfasts, relax in the garden, look at the view and share the wine!! I spent three nights there to attend a special service in Wells Cathedral and could not have chosen a better place. I have told all my friends that if they want a short break away in an excellent country house, this is the place to go.

Polly3524
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 May 2013


"Room and house was beautifully decorated and hosts were very friendly and accomodating."

We stayed one evening in the Blue room. This lovely country house has been decorated to a high level and appropriate for the house. The hosts where at our every calling and recommended wonderful restaurants in Wells. A great break from the hustle and bustle of London.

Likes: The house was lovely and in a quiet location. The hosts made us feel right at home and where helpful with suggestions of activities. Breakfast with eggs from their own hens was fantastic!

Crystal, Mature Couple, Stayed: Mar '13


"A thoroughly lovely experience"

The house is in a lovely, peaceful, rural setting. There is a refinement to the furnishings, overall decor and the choice of colours. All in all a very special, peaceful environment. Our breakfast options were wide ranging and generous. The food was graciously presented. The eggs (laid by the very plump, matronly hens in the garden) were the best ever!!

Likes: Amidst all of these creature comforts, there was the joy of meeting Julia. She is open, warm, friendly, interesting - thoroughly delightful. Her husband Mark isn't bad either.

Alexis, Mature Couple, Stayed: Feb '13


"We were made very welcome, enjoyed an evening in, a good night's sleep and a splendid breakfast."

We visited Wells for the day on our way to Plymouth from Kent.

Likes: The welcome, silence and very comfy bed, very tastey breakfast with fruit and eggs Benedict.

James, Mature Couple, Stayed: Dec '12


"Delightful stay in beautiful house, excellent food, charming and welcoming hosts."

The purpose of the visit was to attend the Advent Service in Wells Cathedral and also to enjoy a walk in the surrounding countryside. We also enjoyed the Christmas event in Wells including Father Christmas and his reindeer!

Likes: The bedroom and bathroom were lovely and warm and the view of the garden and hills as the sun came up in the morning was beautiful.

Helem, Group of Adults, Stayed: Dec '12


"wonderful country house"

Our hosts Julia and Mark welcomed us to their beautiful country house with open arms. Nothing was too much trouble. Tea and homemade biscuits were served in the lounge on our arrival and Julia even drove us into Wells for a concert at the cathedral.
A huge bed with linen that you sunk into ensured a wonderful night's sleep.
Breakfast was an absolute delight and lasted us all day!!.
Perfection!!!
We would recommend to anyone.

Sally G
Marlow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 November 2012


"Shh, don't tell everyone!"

I spent a Saturday night here whilst attending an event and I honestly wish I could have stayed longer. The house is beautiful and so comfortable. The bed was enormous with good quality bedding and the ensuite bathroom was bigger than mine at home. There was a separate bath and fab shower with nice toiletries. Breakfast was fantastic and I really felt as though I was staying at a friend's house as Julia and Mark were so welcoming. There are only two rooms and I expect that booking well in advance will be required as word gets around. The village is just a few minutes from Wells and makes a great base for touring this beautiful part of the country. My hubby and I were thinking of having a city break in Bristol sometime soon, but if we stay at Coxley House then we'll have the best of both worlds as it's only 23 miles away. I'm itching to find an excuse to go again!

Crumb0809
Pembrokeshire, West Wale
Reviewed 19 November 2012


"Family trip"

My wife and I stayed for 3 nights with Julia and Mark Riley and their 4 lovely dogs. The house and room were very clean. Breakfasts were superb and very filling. They were both very friendly and could not be more welcoming. My wife and I would have not hesitation in both recommending and staying there again. Very good value for money.

BoroboyIpswich
Ipswich
Reviewed 19 November 2012


"Warm welcome"

We stayed at Coxley House for just one night to attend Wells carnival. We had a warm welcome from Jullia and Mark. We would recommend as a great place to stay in a peaceful location, but within easy walking distance of Wells.
Just a shame we couldn't stay for longer, but will hopefully be returning again soon.

Katemay81
Reviewed 18 November 2012


"Beautiful country house accomodation"

afternoon tea and homemade biscuits, a wonderful kingsize bed with bedlinen that you sink into and a breakfast that lasted us all day. Julia and Mark were superb hosts. Nothing was too much trouble

Likes: Everything!

Sally, Mature Couple, Stayed: Nov '12


"Perfect B&B"

We stayed four nights and cannot recommend this property highly enough. Beautiful house, great location, warm welcome, meticulous attention to detail, excellent breakfasts. Every effort has been made to ensure comfort and enjoyment. Our only complaint would be that we'd like to have stayed longer - we will definitely be returning as soon as we can.

Helen W
Llangeitho, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 October 2012


"Magical Place"

Relaxing due to lovely atmosphere.

Likes: Everything

Philippa, Family with older Children, Stayed: Oct '12


"Beuatiful location, lovely room, great host."

We booked for one night to celebrate my wife's 40th birthday and had an amazing time: Not only did Julia let us have a chiller jacket to cool some bubbly but she gave us a lift into town and made us feel really at home. It was our first night without young children for a couple of years and we wanted a lie in so suggested breakfast at 9am; she insisted we lie in longer and provided a great breakfast at 9.30!

Likes: Loved the location and the feel of the place was homely yet classy. The thoughtful friendly hosts made our stay very relaxing and the choice and quality of breakfast is top notch.

Chris, Young Couple, Stayed: Oct '12


"This is the perfect B&B"

We stayed four nights and can only reiterate the comments of others before us. Beautiful house, wonderful location, warm welcome, meticulous attention to detail, excellent breakfasts. Our only complaint would be that we'd like to have stayed longer - we will definitely be returning as soon as we can.

Likes: Everything - even the sun came out on a couple of days.

Robert, Mature Couple, Stayed: Oct '12


"Best B & B we have ever stayed in"

A warm welcome from Mark and Julia who are the perfect hosts. Beautiful house set in lovely surroundings and very peaceful. The room was perfect, as was breakfast, particularly the fresh eggs provided by the hens wandering around the garden. We would have no hesitation at all in recommending this B & B to anyone.

Likes: Everything, there is nothing to dislike !

Dislikes: Too short, would have liked to stay longer.

Steve, Mature Couple, Stayed: Sep '12


"A very friendly Greeting followed by tea and biscuits and it just got better."

Perfect.

Likes: We felt very comfortable with the owners and the accommodation.

Thomas, Mature Couple, Stayed: Sep '12


"a beautiful house in a superb setting"

a great experience - we would recommend it. Read more"a beautiful house in a superb setting"a great experience - we would recommend it.

Likes: hospitality, cleanliness and the ambience

Rod, Mature Couple, Stayed: Sep '12


"Very friendly and well presented venue that we found extremely comfortable especially with two dogs."

The owners were very hospitable and made considerable efforts to ensure we enjoyed our stay. We had two dogs with us who they looked after when we went into town in the evening which was a great help. The house and our room were excellent and very well furnished with everything we needed.

Likes: It allowed us to relax and enjoy ourselves.

Timothy, Mature Couple, Stayed: Sep '12


"Delightful home and hosts. First class B and B"

This is a new bed and breakfast close to Wells but in a very peaceful location. Julia and Mark made us very welcome in their delightful home as did their friendly dogs and chickens.
We stayed in a large double room with bathroom en suite overlooking the garden and countryside and much enjoyed the wonderful breakfast.
We strongly recommend Coxley House.

RobertD341
Hook, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 August 2012


"blissful, excellence"

very high standard, very friendly, sorry to leave even only after one nights stay

Likes: friendlyness of owners, the dogs and hens, fantastic breakfast, we would love to return sometime,-- A nice feeling to leave with!

Sandra, Mature Couple, Stayed: Aug '12


"so lovely we returned for another stay"

exploring the area: architecture, history, nature

Likes: beautiful surroundings, great welcome, good food

Gavin, Mature Couple, Stayed: Aug '12


"Warm welcome and delightful stay"

We stayed for two nights in a beautifully restored period house some two miles from the centre of Wells. We were welcomed with tea in the garden and assisted in every way possible.

Likes: The house was beautiful, set in a lovely garden, away from the main road to Glastonbury. Our hosts were kindness itself and we felt very much at home. The outstanding breakfast set us up for the day.

Graham, Mature Couple, Stayed: Aug '12


"The Very Best of British, Tranquil, Perfect Location for Wells, Cheddar, Glastonbury and more"

It was a perfect and a very enjoyable stay. Julia and Mark are very Friendly and Welcoming. Their mission is to make your stay as comfortable and relaxing as possible. On our arrival Julia very kindly offered to make us hot drinks which she set up in the vast tranquil garden, she joined us and was a perfect host pouring the tea making sure we had everything we needed. The Breakfasts are absolutely delicious. there is a good choice to choose from and a little different from the norm.

Likes: The ambience of the house, its Garden and views. It's central location to many of the Tourist sites. The freindleness of Julia and Mark which made our stay such a pleasure in a grand setting.

Sydney, Mature Couple, Stayed: Aug '12


"Best B. and B I have stayed in ever!"

Warm welcome when I arrived early. Julia ran me to my friends house and husband Mark insisted on giving mea glass of wine to take upstairs when I returned!

Likes: I was treated like a family guest and was encouraged to make myself at home. The quality of bed linen, towels, furnishings and the excellent and copious breakfast meant I left feeling truly spoiled.

LINDA, Alone, Stayed: Jul '12


"A memorable break in lovely surroundings"

Exploring Wells and the area: architecture, history and landscape.

Likes: The room and facilities were excellent, the breakfast delicious and the hospitality quite wonderful.

Gavin, Mature Couple, Stayed: Jul '12


"Brilliant B&B 5 minutes from Wells"

This an excellent B&B which we can thoroughly recommend. The house has been newly renovated to a very high standard. The owners are very friendly. Our room was large and we had the choice of bath or shower in the huge bathroom. The double bed is at least king size. Breakfast was a feast with 2 eggs from the hens running around on the lawn outside with all the trimmings - bacon, tomatoes, mushroom, sausage etc. Our only concern was the quantity!

Likes: Very nice decor, very friendly hosts, 5 minutes for m Wells with excellent views of the Mendip Hills

Peter, Mature Couple, Stayed: Jun '12


"Extremely welcoming and friendly"

Very warm welcome. Excellent surroundings. Would definitely recommend. Fantastic breakfast.

Likes: It was all great.

Jonathan, Young Couple, Stayed: Jun '12


"Excellent stay in wonderful location."

Excellent

Likes: Everything

Peter, Mature Couple, Stayed: May '12


"We had a very warm welcome and our stay was made very comfortable."

Every effort was made to provide us with information and help to make the most of the facilities in the local area. There was a homely feel and some rather nice personal touches including some light refreshments on our arrival and the warmth and glow of a log fire.

Likes: It was nice to stay in elegant and pleasant surroundings which had been renovated to a very high standard.

Heather, Group of Adults, Stayed: Apr '12